Tangible Personal Property

Filing Requirements

Florida law requires that every person, firm, business, corporation, etc., owning, leasing, managing, having control or custody, direction or supervision of any tangible personal property in Jefferson County must file a Tangible Personal Property Tax Return (DR-405) with the Jefferson County Property Appraiser’s office between January 1 and April 1. April 1, is the filing deadline to avoid penalties.

Florida law classifies all furniture, fixtures, tools, equipment, machinery, signs and supplies utilized for commercial purposes as Tangible Personal Property subject to appraisal for ad-valorem taxation.

On January 29, 2008, Florida voters passed Amendment 1, which includes a $25,000 exemption for certain Tangible Personal Property. The Tangible Personal Property Tax Return will be considered your application for the exemption. Please be aware that failure to file this return constitutes a failure to apply for the exemption and the account will not be eligible for the exemption. If the value of your tangible personal property is less than $25,000, you are not required to file a return in subsequent years.


How to File

You may apply by mail or in person at during the application filing period of January 2 and March 1. If applying by mail, send your application to:

Jefferson County Property Appraiser’s Office
Attn: TPP Dept
480 W Walnut Street
Monticello, Florida 32344


Click here for the Tangible Personal Property Tax Return (DR-405) Form

Department of Revenue – Equipment Index Factors Guide


Failure to File

Please be aware that if a Tangible Personal Property Tax Return is not filed, a value will be assigned to your account which, in accordance with Section 194.034 (1) Florida Statute, may not be contested. In addition, a 25% penalty will be assessed against your account as required per Florida law.

Click here for the Tangible Personal Property Tax Return (DR-405) Form


Sale or Closure of a Business

If you cease doing business in Lake County, you must notify this office in writing. The non-renewal of your Business Tax Receipt does not automatically remove you from the Tangible Personal Property tax roll.

Click here for an Affidavit of Change in Tangible Personal Property



Our office will gladly provide assistance with completing your Tangible Personal Property Tax Return or with any questions or concerns you may have with regard to your Tangible Personal Property. Contact the Tangible Personal Property Department at (850) 997-3356 or via e-mail at deborah.p@jeffersonpa.net.


Economic Development Ad Valorem Property Tax Exemption

If you are a new business or expanding business in Jefferson County, you may apply for this exemption. In 2012 the voters passed a referendum that was enacted in 2013 as County Ordinance 2013-052113-01. The provision expires in 2022 unless renewed for another 10 years. The criteria to apply is as follows:
• A company must first meet the definitions of a new or expanding business as stated in s. 196.012 (15) and (16), F.S.
• The expansion must be on the same or a co-located site of the business current operations.
• If a business meets one of the above definitions as a new or expanding business, it must then file application with the county commission.
• After the county commission receives this application, it must submit the application to the county property appraiser for review. After the property appraiser makes the report as to the fiscal impact of granting the exemption, the county shall then adopt an ordinance in the usual manner- granting the exemption, if it chooses to do so.
• A business cannot receive exemption from school taxes or water management district taxes. Also a business must pay taxes that were voted by the voters of a county to pay for bond issues and other special tax levies authorized by the voters of a county.
• The exemption can only be for the improvements to the real property and for tangible personal property. The land on which the new or expanding business is to be located will still be taxed and taxes must be paid on it.
• The action taken by the county commission can only exempt the taxes paid to that governmental body.
Application must be made by March 1st.
Economic Development Ad Valorem Property Tax Exemption